SL vs BAN, 2nd Check, Day 1: Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne Hit Centuries As Sri Lanka Dominate Opening Day

Sri Lanka skipper Dimuth Karunaratne made a second straight century in opposition to Bangladesh within the second Check in Pallekele because the hosts dominated the opening day, closing on a commanding 291 for one. The 33-year-old captain adopted his double century within the first Check with 118 in Pallekele, sharing a gap partnership of 209 with Lahiru Thirimanne who batted all day for 131 not out. Karunaratne joins an elite membership of 10 Sri Lankan gamers who’ve scored over 5,000 Check runs along with his haul now standing at 5,110.

After a tediously high-scoring draw within the first Check, the pitch at Pallekele, censured by the ICC as being under common, supplied little for the bowlers.

The one probability given by Karunaratne was dropped at first slip by Najmul Shanto off the bowling of Taskin Ahmed when the Sri Lankan skipper was on 28. 

He reached his twelfth Check century by clipping Taskin Ahmed via the onside for 2. 

The left-hander has been in nice type this 12 months having posted 4 fifties and two centuries. His tally of 648 runs is the second highest in Check cricket in 2021, behind England captain Joe Root’s 794. 

By the point he feathered a catch to wicketkeeper Liton Das to present 19-year-old debutant Shoriful Islam his first wicket in Check cricket, Karunaratne had confronted 190 balls and struck 15 boundaries.

His partnership of 209 with Thirimanne was the very best for the primary wicket in Exams between the 2 nations. 

The earlier report was a 144-run stand between Marvan Atapattu and Sanath Jayasuriya in 2001 on the SSC grounds in Colombo.

Oshada Fernando joined Thirimanne and reached 40 not out by the shut, with the pair including an unbroken 82 for the second wicket.


Bangladesh neglected Ebadot Hossain, who featured within the final sport handing teenage left-arm seamer Shoriful his first Check cap.

Sri Lanka made two modifications bringing in left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama and off-spinner Ramesh Mendis instead of Wanindu Hasaranga and Lahiru Kumara.

Subjects talked about on this article

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply