SL vs BAN: Sri Lanka Punished For “Beneath Common” Pitch Forward Of Should-Win Take a look at

Sri Lanka threat falling to their lowest world rankings place in the event that they fail to beat Bangladesh within the second and remaining Take a look at beginning Thursday at Pallekele after being punished for a “under common” pitch within the high-scoring first sport. The Worldwide Cricket Council choice to order a demerit level for Pallekele has added to the stress on the house aspect. The primary match resulted in a tame draw with the 2 sides scoring 1,289 runs for the lack of simply 17 wickets over the 5 days. ICC match referee Ranjan Madugalle mentioned the Pallekele pitch was “under common”.

“The character of the pitch hardly modified over the course of 5 days,” Madugalle mentioned. “There was no shift in stability between bat and ball as the sport progressed.”

Sri Lanka will fall from seventh to eighth within the ICC Take a look at rankings if ninth-placed Bangladesh power a draw or win.

Having backed their quick bowlers within the opening Take a look at, Sri Lanka will flip again to spin this time.

They’ve included off-spinner Ramesh Mendis, uncapped orthodox left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama, who has performed solely a handful of first-class video games, and left-arm wrist spinner Lakshan Sandakan within the 13-man squad.

“Should you take the spin sources we’ve got, Praveen brings selection into the assault and he in all probability has an edge,” mentioned captain Dimuth Karunaratne.

Bangladesh coach Russell Domingo mentioned he’ll keep on with opener Saif Hassan regardless of two low scores within the high-scoring first sport.

“Opening the batting is difficult in Exams. Loads of openers take a little bit of time to seek out their ft,” mentioned Domingo.

Left-arm bowler Shoriful Islam might make his debut.


Bangladesh squad: Mominul Haque (capt), Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Abu Jayed, Taijul Islam, Najmul Shanto, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Saif Hassan, Shadmam Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Shoriful Islam

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan, Asitha Fernando and Vishwa Fernando

Subjects talked about on this article

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply